PDA

View Full Version : Am I isolating or am I an introvert

striving
04-26-2012, 09:04 AM
I have been working on recovery for over two decades and struggling for three. I seem to get to a point of functionality and then I coast. I don't feel happy yet I have everything. I have a job I enjoy and a boyfriend that loves me. It's a fairly new relationship and I feel smothered. I am still struggling with my eating and the thoughts and behaviors that come with it so I feel overwhelmed. I am in my forties and I have no close friends but others would think I am a social buttefly. Personally there is nothing more satisfying than a weekend to myself with a good book. I will eventually have to make a decision about the boyfriend. He is everything I would want in a guy but I just don't know where my head it at. I can't tell if it's my ed or if it's me. I tend to think that if I am not going to be social and be with the boyfriend then I am weird and I need ed to justify that. I think about food all the time and I feel like a freak. I look normal and I am at a normal BMI. I see a dietitian twice a week, it's costing a fortune and it helps but once again, I feel like I am coasting and not getting to real recovery which involves giving up all dieting or "watching my weight". I dont' have access to a therapist right now and my boyfriend doesn't get it so I am at a loss with who I can talk to.

axi
04-26-2012, 05:35 PM
Why don't you have access to a therapist?

striving
04-26-2012, 07:49 PM
I have no more money to spend. The $************ a week for the dietitian is tapping me out.

axi
04-26-2012, 08:52 PM
Do you think that you could see the dietician once a week and use the remaining money to see a T once a week? Seeing a dietician twice a week seems like a lot and with an ED, a lot of the issues are not so much eat A,B&C, but exploring why you are using food as a control mechanism.

sflathinker
04-27-2012, 07:29 AM