PDA

View Full Version : I need help re work situation.

CaliforniaBeachGirl
04-11-2012, 09:59 PM
I am hoping for feedback here because I need honest, anonymous advice.

Over the past three months, I have learned basically all the staff I work with (I am a lawyer) thinks I am having an affair with my boss or, if I am not, that I am flirting with him and he is in love with me. My motive, apparently, is "sleeping my way to the top." Even my boss's wife believes this; not sure if she heard it from someone I work with or independently reached that conclusion. To be honest, my boss has told me several times (when drunk) that he wishes he was married to me, is incredibly attracted to me, etc. I just ignore him, he has never touched me inappropriately nor has he ever indicated any quid pro quo or in any way penalized me for rejecting his advances so it's not sexual harassment. I can't avoid drinking with him - we have to entertain clients and network - but I do bring my husband with me whenever possible.

I have *never* lead him to believe I am interested in him sexually. I do not flirt with him. I am good at my job, have received perfect reviews from every boss I've ever had, and am well regarded by the other partners I work for. I am FURIOUS the staff has been saying these things when I have done nothing inappropriate and have no need to sleep my way to the top. I want to go to HR but the person who told me about these rumors (my secretary) made me promise I wouldn't repeat it. I seriously want to sue these people for slander or have them fired. The two women who I know are spreading the rumors would get fired if I reported it and requested their termination.