PDA

View Full Version : New Boyfriend

sarahangel
01-25-2012, 08:23 AM
I hope I am in the right place here! I'm new to this so if I am posting in the wrong section, please let me know!

I am seeing someone new after dating the same guy for **** years (who new about my anorexia)
The new guy I am seeing has been asking why I am at the doctors so often and who this group is that I see often enough. (I am part of a support group for eating disorders). I told him not to worry about it and everything is fine.

My big debate is.. Do I tell him about my eating disroder? Most people do not have the first clue about them or have a negative view on it.. I dont want to hide anything from him bit I also dont want to alarm him or think I'm troubled, etc!

Any advice?!

Thanks so much :) :phil

mjseven
01-25-2012, 10:28 AM
First of all, welcome, and yes I think you're in the right place. My first question would be, how long have you been dating, and how long have you known him for? Would I tell a new boyfriend after one date, no probably not. But it sounds like you've been together long enough for him to notice your group meetings and doctor visits. What finally made me decide to tell my bf was when I felt ****. it was or would start effecting our relationship and ****. because I started slipping more heavily into behaviors, and I knew he would eventually need to know.

Now, I will say that my bf and I had been friends for two years before we dated, and we were several months into our relationship. Each situation is different, but I would say that you might want to tell him if he's already starting to notice things. Do what you feel you are emotionally capable of doing. Good luck, and let us know if you need support, that's what we're here for :)

sarahangel
01-25-2012, 12:41 PM
Thank you! :)

We have gone on **** dates but talk all the time over text message so he will ask me what I am up to o, and without thinking I reply "doctors"...