PDA

View Full Version : need to make him happy at all costs?

recoveringinwi
12-25-2011, 02:40 PM
A psychiatrist in the in-patient ED program I was just in (for a relapse of my anorexia)informed me that I'm extremely codependent, and it's making me sicker and sicker. Another words, I sacrifice my own life, happiness, and especially health to try to make my husband happy. He refuses to treat his clinical depression so I never succeed. I feel like if I can't make him happy I don't deserve to be happy. I've been doing it for nine years and don't know how to stop. I'm a people-pleaser by nature. Do I have to change my nature? How?

bellydancer
12-25-2011, 05:36 PM
Hi recovering,

It sounds like you need to give some thought to what you can and cannot control. You cannot control whether your husband will treat his depression, and as a result you know that you yourself cannot be the one to make him happy. Is it worth sacrificing your health and yourself for something that you know is fruitless. I think the best thing that you can do is to work on yourself and on your ED recovery. Working on my own recovery helped me to understand what things I coudl actually accomplish and what was fruitless. It helped me to learn to set my own boundaries and how to be supportive without losing myself.

Think about being a people-pleaser to yourself, rather than someone else. You'll probably get a lot further.

rugbyplayer
12-28-2011, 01:09 AM