PDA

View Full Version : No one came to my college graduation

Thoughts
12-17-2011, 03:41 PM
Well, I graduated from college today and I'm not sure how I feel about it. I'm not that happy actually. I guess because I am unsure of what to do and still living with my mom and my potential roommates aren't working out. It's just a huge transition.

but also because I went to my graduation today, and although I told myself the graduation wasn't a big deal (I wasn't even going to go, but my mom wanted to see me walk) and I had no one there for me. I don't have very many friends so they weren't there and my sister didn't want to give my mom a ride as was previously planned to it because she just didn't want to get up. At the end of the ceremony I called our home phone to make sure she was there (she doesn't have a cell so no one would pick up if she had left) well, she picked up so I knew she wasn't there. It's not her fault and I'm not mad at her but I felt left out because everyone else had someone, or at least a friend. when I walked the stage hardly no one clapped because I don't have many friends in school. I went to the graduation ceremony with another friend who was graduating and ALL of her family came out, plus friends. I just sort of sat to the side. She got flowers and money, etc. My family is poor so I didn't get anything, which is OK, but it just made me feel awkward to see her family interacting. I tried not to cry, but I just did. They kept asking if I was OK and some of them hugged me and congratulated me but it was still really weird. I have to work tonight (I didn't get off :ohboy) and I'm hoping I can keep it together.

ducksquack
12-17-2011, 04:27 PM
I am so sorry you had such a disappointment as it does
hurt as we all need encouragement and to feel special
and it is painful and ok to cry.

It is a big deal to graduate so congrats on all the hard
work you must have done. Thats awesome.

Transitions such as this are hard but remember that what