PDA

View Full Version : Too independent

lexy*
12-01-2011, 11:53 PM
My parents are independent, competent individuals, and they raised me to be a independent individual capable of making decisions on her own and managing her own life. They raised me to learn how to solve my own problems instead of relying on other people. They taught me to surround myself with supportive, kind, interesting people and to leave if someone is not respecting me. I appreciate that they instilled the value of independence and self-reliance in me.

However, I think that they may have overdone it, or I may have taken the value of independence and completely run with it. I am about to turn thirty, and I feel like I am almost too independent. I can't say that I really relied on too many people since I graduated from college. I have a hard time really opening myself up to someone, and I can't say that I trust too many people to take care of me should I need it. I don't ask people for help but figure out a way to help myself. I look at how I go about my life,and I can see that I don't really allow myself the option of really depending on other people for help. For example, if my car is in the shop, I will take as many buses and trains that I need to and wouldn't ask for a ride from anyone. It wouldn't even occur to me to ask for a ride. If I have to make a decision that I am unsure of, I do the research and analysis myself. I don't expect anyone to take care of me or to provide for me--ever. I can't imagine what it would even be like to be taken care of when I know that I am a competent adult, and I can take care of myself. I don't think that I could even allow myself to be taken care of.